Carabao Cup draw: Manchester City will host reigning champions Liverpool

Liverpool beat Chelsea on penalties in last year’s Carabao Cup final

Eight-time champion Manchester City will host defending champion Liverpool in the fourth round of the Carabao Cup.

Gillingham, the lowest-ranked side remaining in the competition, will face Wolves at Molineux in what will be Julen Lopetegui’s first game in charge of the Premier League side.

Manchester United receives Vincent Kompany’s Burnley after beating Aston Villa 4-2 in the third round.

Matches will be played in the week beginning December 19.

Reigning Premier League champions City, who have won the trophy six times in the last eight seasons, knocked out chelsea with a comfortable victory on Wednesday while Liverpool beat the derby in penalties.

Eddie Howe’s Newcastle take on his old side Bournemouth in the second of two Premier League ties, while Southampton and Brighton take on League One opponents Lincoln City and Charlton respectively.

The matches will be played just days after the World Cup final in Qatar, before the Premier League returns on Boxing Day.

full draw:

Wolves v Gillingham

Southampton v Lincoln City

Blackburn Rovers v Nottingham Forest


Manchester City-Liverpool

Manchester United v Burnley

MK Dons-Leicester


Around the BBC - SoundsAround the BBC Footer - Sounds

Leave a Comment