Munster ends 50-year wait for South African scalp

A Munster team devoid of their Ireland team contingent beat South Africa ‘A’ 28-14 in front of a record crowd of over 40,000 fans in Cork.

In the first ever rugby match to be held at Pairc Ui Chaoimh, the home of Cork GAA, Munster recorded their first win over a team touring South Africa.

Shane Daly opened the scoring for the hosts after just three minutes, with Ben Healy adding the conversion by splitting goalposts that had to be transported from Thomond Park in Limerick especially for this match.

video spacer

Springbok Showdown and Scrum Guru Steenkamp

Aphelele Fassi’s touchdown and Johan Goossen’s kick equalized the tourists, but Simon Zebo and Diarmuid Barron went off before the break (Healy converted both) as Graham Rowntree’s men broke away.

Mike Haley added his name to the scoreboard shortly after the break, with Healy’s extras making it 28-7 for Munster, who have struggled to maintain their form in the United Rugby Championship so far this season.

Sikhumbuzo Notshe’s try just after the hour, converted by Gianni Lombard, was nothing but consolation for the South African XV.

The total attendance of 41,400 was the largest crowd ever to see a rugby match in the province.

the scorers

for Munster
Try: Daly, Zebo, Barron, Haley
Cons: Healy 4

For South Africa ‘A’
Tests: Fassi, Notshe
Cons: Goosen, Lombard

Yellow card: Liam O’Connor (Munster, 61 – repeat offense, illegal scrumming)


Munster: 15 Mike Haley, 14 Shane Daly, 13 Antoine Frisch, 12 Rory Scannell, 11 Simon Zebo, 10 Ben Healy, 9 Paddy Patterson, 8 Gavin Coombes, 7 John Hodnett, 6 Jack O’Donoghue (captain), 5 Kiran McDonald, 4 Edwin Edogbo, 3 Roman Salanoa, 2 Diarmuid Barron, 1 Josh Wycherley.
Replacements: 16 Niall Scannell, 17 Liam O’Connor, 18 Keynan Knox, 19 Cian Hurley, 20 Alex Kendellen, 21 Neil Cronin, 22 Patrick Campbell, 23 Malakai Fekitoa.

South Africa ‘A’: 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Suleiman Hartzenberg, 13 Henco van Wyk, 12 Cornal Hendricks, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Jean-Luc du Preez, 7 Elrigh Louw, 6 Phendulani Buthelezi, 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Thomas du Toit (captain), 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Ntuthuko Mchunu.
Replacements: 16 Andre-Hugo Venter, 17 Simphiwe Matanzima, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Dan du Preez, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Grant Williams, 22 Sanele Nohamba, 23 Gianni Lombard.


Join for free and tell us what you really think!

join for free

Leave a Comment