Fans are urged to vote for the Player of the Tournament

The best cricketers on the planet have been lighting up the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 for the past month and fans have been reminded not to miss their chance to vote for the Player of the Tournament.

Nine players have been shortlisted and five have a chance of advancing their case in the final, with three English and two Pakistani stars on the shortlist.

Voting will remain open until the final stages of the final, which takes place at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground and sees both sides seeking to lift the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup trophy for a second time.

The Player of the Tournament will be decided by a panel of experts and the vote of the fans will contribute to the decision.

Fans can vote here – the nine players nominated for the award are:

Virat Kohli (India)

The leading run scorer in the competition with 296, Kohli’s four half-centuries included the unbeaten 82 that inspired his team’s dramatic four-wicket victory over Pakistan.

Suryakumar Yadav (India)

With 239 runs at a remarkable strike rate of 189.68, Yadav has been a key injector of momentum for India and has become the world’s No. 1 batsman in the MRF Tires ICC Men’s T20I Player Ranking over the course of the tournament.

Shaddab Khan (Pakistan)

A key part of Pakistan’s run to the bat-and-ball final, Shadab has collected 10 wickets, going just 6.59 over and making vital contributions with the bat, notably a 22-ball 52 in the win over South Africa.

Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan)

Returning from injury with a bang, Shaheen’s 10 wickets to date have included four against Bangladesh and another two in the semi-final against New Zealand, the closer just 6.17 up on the road.

Sam Curran (England)

Curran began the tournament by becoming the first England bowler to take a five-wicket T20I tour and has been Jos Buttler’s go-to man in death, holding his nerve in decisive moments.

Josh Butler (England)

The England captain has led by example, forming a fearsome opening partnership with Alex Hales and scoring 199 runs with a strike rate of 143.16.

Alex Hales (England)

Hales has made his return to international cricket count and is England’s leading run-scorer heading into the final, his tally augmented by a brutal unbeaten 86 in a 10-wicket win over India in the last four.

Sikandar Race (Zimbabwe)

Zimbabwe’s timeless talisman played a crucial role for his team in Australia, scoring 219 runs and contributing vital wickets, including three in the famous win over Pakistan.

Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka)

Hasaranga was the leading wicket-taker in 2021 and could go consecutively, with no bowler currently having more scalps than the spinner’s 15, which came in at 13.26 apiece, with his economy rate in a tidy 6.41.

Leave a Comment