Correa returns to F2 in Abu Dhabi with Van Amersfoort

Involved in the horrific F2 accident at Spa-Francorchamps in 2019 that claimed the life of Anthoine Hubert, Correa emerged from the accident with two badly broken legs, which required rehabilitation throughout 2020.

The Ecuadorian-American driver was able to return to racing the following year, joining ART Grand Prix in Formula 3 and remained there for a second season, in which he scored a podium finish at the Zandvoort sprint race.

Beckmann therefore returns to the sidelines having competed in five rounds in the #24 VAR car after taking over from Jake Hughes, who has chosen to focus on an expected 2022-23 Formula E campaign.

The German scored points in both races at Spa and at Monza, and had previously replaced Amaury Cordeel in the other VAR-monitored car when the Belgian received a one-race suspension.

Correa tweeted: “Very excited to announce that I will be back racing in F2 this weekend with VAR. A huge thank you as always to Step One Automotive Group, Step One Motorsports and all my partners for helping make it happen.”

Correa is one of two changes to the Abu Dhabi F2 grid announced so far, as F3 runner-up Zane Maloney replaces Calan Williams at Trident.

Roy Nissany is also set to return to the grid for DAMS, after serving a one-race suspension for breaching the penalty point limit. F2 stalwart Luca Ghiotto replaced the Israeli, his former teammate at Campos in 2018.

After a year and a half racing for Jenzer in GP3, Correa originally made the move to F2 with Charouz Racing System, at the time the official outlet of the Sauber Academy.

Correa scored two podium finishes for the Czech operation before his accident, with a second place in the sprints at Baku and Paul Ricard, both having taken seventh place in the feature race.

Russian driver Matevos Isaakyan pinned Correa in the last two rounds of the 2019 championship.

Correa has combined his 2022 F3 season with a partial campaign with Prema in the European Le Mans Series, in which he and teammates Louis Deletraz and Ferdinand Habsburg were victorious in the Portimao final.

Amaury Cordeel, Van Amersfoort Racing

Photo by: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Leave a Comment