Lawson claims victory in Yas Marina sprint race after F1 practice RaceFans

Red Bull-backed junior driver Liam Lawson won the Formula 2 sprint race at the Yas Marina circuit after replacing Max Verstappen in Friday’s first F1 practice session.

Richard Verschoor had taken pole on the partially reversed grid for the sprint race, and Lawson shared the front row with him after the two set identical qualifying times. Amaury Cordeel and Dennis Hauger completed the second row while Williams’ Logan Sargeant junior, competing for his super license, started fifth alongside Jack Doohan, the closest driver to him in the standings.

At the start, Verschoor held the lead into the first corner, with those in front fitting perfectly behind each other. However, the race was interrupted when Enzo Fittipaldi and Jehan Daruvala hit the barriers on the exit of turn two. As the field reached turn six, a red flag was displayed due to the extensive repairs required to the barrier.

Both drivers were able to get out of their cars, Daruvala with some help after his car became heavily embedded in tecpro. After a lengthy stop for repairs, racing resumed to a strong start, with Verschoor maintaining a clean lead at the restart.

On the tenth lap, Lawson took the lead after Verschoor was apparently caught in turn six. Champion Felipe Drugovich claimed fourth position from Hauger at the first turn on lap 17, when the drivers began to visibly struggle with the tires, Cordeel slid onto the pavement ahead of the two.

By lap 20, Lawson had pulled out a lead of over four seconds, while Drugovich had moved on to threaten Crodeel for third. Drugovich climbed to the final podium at turn six on lap 21, Cordeel fought back but was unable to regain the place.

Lawson’s lead was over six seconds on the penultimate lap, while Hauger went off the track at turn six, attempting to pass Cordeel for fourth. He handed the place back to Cordeel without letting the sergeant or Doohan through.

Drugovich was warned about the track limits on the final lap when the drivers began to struggle to control their cars on degraded tyres.

Hauger managed to take fourth from Cordeel at turn nine, as Lawson took the checkered flag to claim his fourth win of the year. Verschoor and Drugovich rounded out the podium, with Sargeant’s sixth ahead of Doohan keeping him comfortably in line for his super license and the 2023 Williams drive.

Announcement | Become a follower of RaceFans and go ad free

Results of the first Formula 2 race at Yas Marina

Position Car Driver Equipment
1 5 liam lawson carlin
two twenty Richard Verschor Trident
3 eleven Felipe Drogavich parliamentary
4 1 dennis hauger Prema
5 25 Amaury Cordel Van Amersfoort
6 6 sergeant logan carlin
7 3 jack doohan virtuous
8 sixteen Roy Nissany DAMS
9 10 Theo Pourchaire ART
10 7 marcus armstrong Of high technology
eleven 9 Federico Vesti ART
12 8 juri vips Of high technology
13 17 Aymu Iwasa DAMS
14 12 clement novalak parliamentary
fifteen 24 Juan Manuel Correa Van Amersfoort
sixteen twenty-one Zane Maloney Trident
17 14 olli caldwell fields
18 fifteen Ralph Boschung fields
19 4 sato marine virtuous
twenty 23 Tatiana Calderon charuz
DNF two Jehan Daruvala Prema
DNF Enzo Fittipaldi charuz

Announcement | Become a follower of RaceFans and go ad free

formula 2

Browse All Formula 2 Articles

Leave a Comment