Cycling

How to quickly purge your unwanted Instagram posts from the public eye forever or just temporarily « Smartphones :: Gadget Hacks


For whatever reason, you may want or need to remove multiple posts from your Instagram grid. If you only have a couple to hide from the public, archiving or deleting posts one by one is fine, but there is a much faster way when you have tens or even hundreds of Instagram posts to delete from your account.

Maybe you have too many pub crawl photos and are looking for a job. Maybe you need to take out a Lacuna and erase the painful memories of a former partner. Or it could be that you remembered some memes you posted a while back that could be considered… uh… problematic.

To archive or delete your suspicious Instagram posts in bulk, follow the steps below, which cover the process for the Android and iOS mobile apps. However, you can also follow the same steps through the platform’s website.

Step 1: access your activity

Open Instagram in your profile tab, tap the “More” button (the hamburger menu icon) at the top, and then navigate to Your Activity -> Photos & Videos -> Posts. You can also choose Reels, Videos, or Highlights if you want to hide the content in those areas.

Step 2 – Select Media to Purge

You will now see a grid of thumbnails of your Instagram posts. Tap “Select” at the top, then add checkmarks to the thumbnails of the posts you want to delete. You can also use the “Sort and Filter” tool to sort the grid by newest or oldest, as well as by a specific date range, to help narrow down problematic posts.

Step 3: Archive or delete it

Once you’ve selected the content you want to temporarily or permanently hide from your profile, tap the “Archive” or “Delete” button at the bottom, which will also tell you how many posts you’ve selected, then confirm via the dialog. .

You change your opinion? You can make posts public again

If you change your mind about a photo or video, you can get it back, though deleted posts are permanently gone after 30 days.

To unarchive content, open the “More” menu, then tap “Archive” or “Your Activity” followed by “Archived.” Tap an image, tap the vertical or horizontal ellipses, then “Show on profile.”

To recover the content, open the “More” menu, then tap “Your Activity” followed by “Recently Deleted.” Touch an image, press the vertical or horizontal ellipses, select “Restore” and then confirm.




Keep your connection secure without a monthly bill. Get a lifetime subscription to VPN Unlimited for all your devices with a one-time purchase in the new Gadget Hacks Shop and watch Hulu or Netflix without region restrictions, increase security when browsing public networks and more.

Buy now (80% off) >

Other deals worth checking out:

Cover image and screenshots by Tommy Palladino/Gadget Hacks

Leave a Comment