Cycling

How to disable access to notification center when your iPhone is locked

On iOS, anyone can access your Notification Center when your iPhone is locked. If this default setting sounds a little less private than you’d like, read on to learn how to turn it off.


In Apple iOS, Notification Center shows your notification history and lets you scroll back and see what you missed. If your ‌iPhone‌ is unlocked, you can swipe down from the top center of your screen to see it at any time.

If your ‌iPhone‌ is locked, you can still access Notification Center by swiping up from the center of the screen. It’s a convenient way to get an overview of your recent notifications without having to go to the Home screen, but it also makes them susceptible to prying eyes whenever you leave your ‌iPhone‌ unattended.

If the thought of someone else reading your notification history makes you nervous, don’t worry, there’s a very simple way to disable access from the lock screen. The following steps show you how to do it.

  1. Unlock your ‌‌iPhone‌‌ and open the Settings app
  2. Scroll down and tap Face ID and Passcode (either Touch ID and passcode).
  3. Enter your access code when prompted.
  4. Scroll down and under ‘Allow access when locked’, turn off the switch next to notification center.

settings

That’s all about it. Access to the Notification Center from the lock screen of your ‌iPhone‌ will be disabled effective immediately.

It’s worth keeping in mind that even with Notification Center disabled, you (or anyone else) can still see notifications appearing on your lock screen as they arrive. Fortunately, you can disable lock screen notifications on a per-app basis.

settings
just go to Settings -> Notifications, tap the app in question, then uncheck the box under “Lock screen” in the Alerts options. You can repeat this for each app you want to disable lock screen notifications for.

Leave a Comment