Cycling

How to disable the ability to ‘Reply with Message’ when your iPhone is locked

On iOS, Apple includes an option to reply to messages from the lock screen. This article explains why you might want to disable this feature and how to do it.


In early versions of Apple’s mobile operating system, all a user could access on the lock screen of an ‌iPhone‌ was the time, date, notifications, and camera and flashlight features. To gain access to anything else, you had to unlock the ‌‌iPhone‌‌. It was simple and safe.

These days, iOS allows optional access to several additional features from the lock screen, including (but not limited to) the ability to reply to messages.

The “Reply with Message” feature is certainly useful, but it leaves open the possibility for someone else to reply to your messages when you leave your ‌iPhone‌ unattended, whether as a prank or for some more nefarious reason.

Fortunately, you can turn off the Reply with Message feature by following these steps.

  1. Unlock your ‌iPhone‌ and open the Settings app
  2. Scroll down and tap Face ID and Passcode (either Touch ID and passcode).
  3. Enter your access code when prompted.
  4. Scroll down and under ‘Allow access when locked’, turn off the switch next to reply with message.

settings

The Reply with Message feature will be disabled effective immediately and will no longer be available from the lock screen, giving you that extra level of security.

Leave a Comment