Cycling

What is shared with you on iPhone and iPad?

Edgar Cervantes / Android Authority

If you have an iPhone or iPad and have been talking to people through Apple’s native Messages app, you may have seen “Shared with you” labels appear when others share things. But what is their meaning and what triggers them?

What is shared with you?

First introduced alongside the iOS 15 and iPadOS 15 versions of Messages, Shared with You primarily highlights content shared from Apple’s Music, TV, News, Photos, Podcasts, and Safari apps. Most third-party apps are out of the loop; you won’t see them in other messaging clients like Signal or WhatsApp, and they can’t be activated by things like Netflix or Google Drive. It is compatible with titles like Night Sky and Redfin.

What does Shared with you really do?

Shared with you in Safari for iPad

The benefit of this marking is that it is easier to retrieve the content later. There’s no need to scroll back through Messages conversations, as there’s a dedicated Shared With You collection in supported apps. This is where you can find Apple apps:

  • Music: Play Listen now.
  • TV: Play Watch now.
  • Safari: Open a new tab and scroll down until Shared with you appears.
  • Photos: Play For you and scroll down. If someone sent multiple photos, they’ll show up as a collage that you can swipe through.
  • podcast: Play Listen now and scroll down.
  • News: Open the This day tab and scroll down.
Pinning and removing content shared with you on iPhone

You can also “pin” material shared with you by touching and holding it in Messages and selecting Pin. This isn’t necessary, but pinned items appear when you search for them in the Messages or Shared with you sections of apps. If you want to do the opposite and purge the content, tap Remove in the same popup menu.

Can I disable Shared with you?

Yes. If you want to disable it completely or on a per app basis, follow these steps:

  • Open the Settings app.
  • Scroll down and select Messages.
  • Play shared with you. Here you can disable individual apps or Auto Sharing for a system-wide effect. Note that as a bypass, you can still pin something via Messages.

You can also disable the feature on a per-contact basis, for example, if someone shares so much content that your Shared with you lists would be dominated by them. This is what you should do:

  • Open Messages and select a conversation with the contact you are concerned about.
  • Tap their name at the top.
  • On your contact page, turn off Show in Shared with you.

Read more: How to sync your iPhone and iPad

[“newsletter-signup”]

Leave a Comment