Cycling

Why you should disable macro mode on your iPhone

Has this happened to you? You turn on your iPhone’s camera to take a photo, only to see something strange: your phone seems to be switching between camera lenses on its own, preventing you from being able to take your photo. After all, how can you correctly frame a shot when the lens keeps changing?

One of the reasons this happens is because of the lighting conditions. If you try to use your zoom lens when there isn’t enough light, your iPhone will switch to the main (aka wide) camera and digitally zoom. If you switch between lighting conditions, you can see this in action. It’s a weird iOS quirk, but it doesn’t explain why the camera lens changes when you’re using the wide camera. not the zoom lens. Some iPhones don’t even have a zoom lens, just a wide angle and an ultra wide angle.

Macro mode switches your iPhone cameras automatically

The problem stems from the iPhone’s macro mode, which is included in the iPhone 13 Pro, 13 Pro Max, 14 Pro, and 14 Pro Max. It means well: The feature, as designed by Apple, automatically switches to the ultra-wide camera when it detects that you move the camera closer to a subject. Then cleverly take a photo with extra details that aspect as if coming from the wide lens. That way you don’t actually get that iconic “ultra-wide” look.

This can be a great way to get close-up shots of subjects, but it makes things confusing when you’re moving between subjects and see your camera switch without warning.

How to disable Macro Mode on your iPhone

If you think you’d like to use this feature for close-up shots, but want to turn it off just this once, you can tap the Macro icon (yellow flower) that appears in the corner of the viewfinder. When you do, your iPhone will return to the main camera and the Macro icon will turn grey. However, the next time you use the camera and it detects a close-up subject, macro mode will reactivate.

If you want to make sure that macro mode stays off, but keeps the icon in the corner in case you want to turn it back on, go to Settings > Camera > Keep Settings, then press the “Macro Mode” button. However, if you want to disable macro mode forever, you can head over to Settings > Camerathen scroll to the bottom and disable “Macro Mode”.

Leave a Comment